The Rabbi’s Study

photo-19.jpg
This is where I study. Read. Pray. Everybody needs a place to escape the noise and meditate on God, His creation and His Word. I am surrounded by my paintings which serve as reminders that I serve a creative God and I am His image-bearer. One of my all-time favorite quotes, which I stumbled upon in college, is by Abraham Kuyper:

“As an image-bearer of God, man possesses the ability both to create something good and to delight in it.”

photo-16.jpg

I am reminded of Jonathan Edwards who spent up to 13 hours a day in his study, undistracted and entranced on God. Perhaps the following quote was penned in his study:

“As God delights in His own beauty, He must necessarily delight in the creature’s holiness which is a conformity to and participation of it, as truly as the brightness of a jewel, held in the sun’s beams, is a participation or derivation of the sun’s brightness, though immensely less in degree.”

from The End for Which God Created the World

I am finishing up this book, which has shaped my understanding of God’s redemptive purposes in the world. The first half of the book is “God’s Passion for His Glory” by John Piper {its actually the title of the book as you would find it in a bookstore by Piper}. Edwards’ book follows Piper’s in the second half. This is a must read and one of the most influential reads upon my life. I recommend you sell what you can to pick up a copy. But I warn you, Edwards is characteristically dense, deep, philosophical, etc so prepare to stretch your mind. This is not fluff. But it will exercise your brain good. And Piper’s half will do the same. Just a little less 18th century abstract words.

5 comments

  1. Mac Daddy,
    I bow to the magnificence of thy machine. Have mercy on me, a sinner.

    Things are well. When do we break liquid bread together?

    I’ve been enjoying your thoughts. Good stuff.

Leave a Reply

