Imparting To the Next Generation…

I am doing a Bible study on Wednesday mornings with a few of the men in leadership at the church where we are looking at the book of Judges {yes, at 6 A.M. we are tackling this book!!}. I have been reminded of the need for the next generation to “know the LORD…” {Judges 2:10} and the drastic results that occur when they do not know Him.

So, as I put the boys to bed last night {Zechariah- 8 yrs, Jamin- 5 yrs, and Asher- 20 months}, Zechariah came into our room about 10 minutes after they were to be in bed asleep. He asked if he could turn the lamp on for a few minutes. I gave him the “okay, but be quick” parental reply.

This morning I asked what he wanted to do when he turned the lamp on. He told me he wrote out a prayer. So, I will reproduce what he wrote, 8 year-old mispelled words in all. I praise God for the work that is being done in Zech’s heart:

“Dear Lord,
I pray Asher that he wood lern to live your way. and that Jamin to. and that mom and dad wood not fall away. Dear Lord I pray for all my frinds that thay wood not fall away either. and I pray for evry body that thay wood not fall away. and in Jesus name we pray amen.”

Obviously Zech needs help with spelling, but I rejoice that God is working in his life!

Let this be an encouragement for you, if you have children, to continue to plant the Word of God in their hearts and lives {Mark 4}. Here are a few prayers that I pray for my boys often:

Incline their hearts to Your Word and not to getting gain…Psalm 119:36
Hide Your Word in their hearts that they might not sin against You…Psalm 119:11
Unite their hearts to fear Your Name…Psalm 86:11
Open their eyes to see the light of the knowledge of the glory of God as it shines in the face of Jesus Christ…2nd Corinthians 4:3-6
May they love you with their heart, soul, mind, and strength…Deuteronomy 6:5
Satisfy them in the morning with Your steadfast love…Psalm 90:14

3 comments

  1. What a neat deal…to see God’s fingerprints in those whom He has given you the awesome opportunity to direct closer to Him and to raise. While imperfect, parents and children alike, it is pearls like this that renew our hope that He is at work, in all of us. Even when we don’t acknowledge, expect or deserve it.

    Blessings my friend.

    b

  2. I love it. What a blessing it is to see the truths we have tried to impress upon our children take root in their hearts. Thanks for sharing this encouraging word today. I’m copying down the scriptures you pray for your children and I’m going to post them by my desk… I too often pray the Word over my kids. Always happy to add more specific prayers. 🙂

    This post was listed on my blog as “similar” reading – or something like that… so I came on over. I’m glad I did! Blessings!

    Heather

Leave a Reply

