Plentiful Redemption

Let me start this post by giving another Hebrew/Greek resource for those of you aquainted or re-aquainting yourself with the Biblical languages, and then giving the background of how I came across this book.

The book is called “Light On the Path, Volume 1: Daily Scripture Readings in Hebrew and Greek” and it is a resource designed to help people keep up on their knowledge of Hebrew and Greek. As they say, “If you don’t use it, you’ll lose it.” Its true with the Biblical languages as well. This book is divided according to the calendar year so that each day you have a reading in Greek and Hebrew. The readings consist of a short verses from the Bible and some parsing and definitions are given to aid you. This is a great tool. I highly recommend it. Surprsingly, your knowledge of the language will come back and you may even retain some! More importantly, you’ll be exposed to God’s Word and that can never hurt you.

Now, Volume 1 is out of print as far as I know, but there are copies out there {more on this in a moment}. But Volume 2 was released several years ago, and you can find it here: “More Light on the Path: Daily Scripture Readings in Hebrew and Greek.”

519b46kc95l_aa240_.jpg

What is even more fascinating about Volume 1 is that it was compiled by a German banker, Heinrich Bitzer. He was a layman who labored at the Biblical languages. To read more about Bitzer’s story, see this article by John Piper: “Brothers, Bitzer Was A Banker!

Now, let me tell you how I “stumbled” {laugh here if you’re a Calvinist!} upon this book. A few years ago, I was graciously invited to speak at a summer camp by my friend Heath Taylor, who now pastors Mosaic Bible Church in Scottsdale, Arizona. Obviously, the last day of camp can be hectic with everyone trying to pack up and clean up. In the midst of this, Heath was supposed to take me to the airport to fly back to Texas. The inevitable late departure to the airport happened and subsequently we realized that I would miss my flight, but I didn’t mind. Heath and I got to hang out in the car on the way to the airport so me missing my flight was no big deal. We had a great week of ministry so I didn’t mind. Of course, Heath felt bad, but God is sovereign, right?

So, I had a few hours to kill in the airport before my next flight was to leave. To my surprise there was a new used bookstore being built in the airport. It was all boarded up except one small crevice that served as its door, so I went in. They were open for business but there were books everywhere. I’m surprised they were even allowed to open the store, but they did. I found the religion section and lo and behold, there it was! As if a spotlight had focused it’s beam right on the book! There before my eyes i read on the cover: “Light On the Path, Volume 1”

What was this book doing in a barely opened new used bookstore in an airport and how did I stumble across it? I had been searching for this out of print book for years and there I was holding it in my hand. My next thought was, “It must cost $50 at least.” I slowly opened up the inside cover and read: $6. I’ve never ran faster in my life! Straight to the counter before they realized what kind of deal I was getting.

I say all of this because the daily reading for today, September 6th was out of Psalm 130. Here is the psalm in its entirety:

Out of the depths I cry to you, O Lord!
O Lord, hear my voice!
Let your ears be attentive
to the voice of my pleas for mercy!

If you, O Lord, should mark iniquities,
O Lord, who could stand?
But with you there is forgiveness,
that you may be feared.

I wait for the Lord, my soul waits,
and in his word I hope;
my soul waits for the Lord
more than watchmen for the morning,
more than watchmen for the morning.

O Israel, hope in the Lord!
For with the Lord there is steadfast love,
and with him is plentiful redemption.
And he will redeem Israel
from all his iniquities.

What struck me here and renewed my faith in God’s future grace was vv. 5-7:

I wait for the Lord, my soul waits,
and in his word I hope;
my soul waits for the Lord
more than watchmen for the morning,
more than watchmen for the morning.

O Israel, hope in the Lord!
For with the Lord there is steadfast love,
and with him is plentiful redemption.

As I meditated upon this, I realized that watchmen know for sure, with absolute certainty that the morning will come. There is no doubt about it. All that they do is wait expectantly for it to come. They stay awake and alert because they know beyond a shadow of a doubt that the morning will come. Night will eventually fade away and give way to morning.

And the psalmist declares that he will wait for God to intervene in his life and rescue him from his predicament {“the depths” verse 1} which was no doubt brought about by his sin {“iniquities” verse 3}. In fact, the psalmist declares that he will wait for God to intervene EVEN MORE THAN watchmen wait for the morning.

And the reason the psalmist declares this with such unwavering faith is found in verse 7:

“For with the LORD there is steadfast love, and with Him is plentiful redemption…”

The psalmist knows that just as sure as the morning will come, even more so God will bring about deliverance for him. And thus he waits even more than watchmen wait for the morning, even more than watchmen wait for the morning…

Trust Him today. Wait expectantly for Him because with Him there is plentiful redemption!

Leave a Reply

