Joel Osteen Is A Gospel Preacher Like Col. Sanders is An Army Officer.

joel_blink.gif

Internet Monk gives a great wrap-up to last night’s 60 minutes interview with Joel Osteen. His best quote was the title to this post: “Osteen is a Gospel preacher like Col. Sanders is an army officer.” That about sums it up. I am grateful that they also interviewed Dr. Michael Horton. He wrote several articles after taping his interview which you can find here.

You can also read the whole thing at 60 minutes. Personally, I don’t believe Osteen understands the gospel according to Jesus, nor does he preach it.

Here’s an excerpt that made me very uncomfortable:

“To become a better you, you must be positive towards yourself, develop better relationships, embrace the place where you are. Not one mention of God in that. Not one mention of Jesus Christ in that,” Pitts remarks.

“That’s just my message. There is scripture in there that backs it all up. But I feel like, Byron, I’m called to help people…how do we walk out the Christian life? How do we live it? And these are principles that can help you. I mean, there’s a lot better people qualified to say, ‘Here’s a book that going to explain the scriptures to you.’ I don’t think that’s my gifting,” Osteen says.

2 comments

  1. He is a waste of space but he is a successful snake oil salesman. That is what he is, a snake oil salesman. He may actually care about God but is he really doing ANYTHING to further the Gospel….nope. He is doing EVERYTHING to further his bottom line, employ all of his family members under a tax free non-profit and scam mindless masses out of all their pocketbook.

    Is there any reason for his “entertainment”? Yes, to build a brand name like Oral “God’s Gonna Kill Me” Roberts so his kids can be spoiled and live off of other people’s hard earned money as “they” go on round the world vacations on “God’s” money. Look at the new allegation of the “roberts” family; buying 100K worth of house funiture out of the non-profit universities funds….tell me they are Godly people, please someone I need to laugh.

    I loved the part where he broke down and cried….I laughed so hard I almost fell out. Looked like the last car salesman I told No to.

  2. I REALLY WANT TO BE LIKE JOEL OSTEEN.I REALLY WISH I COULD JOIN HIM SO THAT WE BOTH DO THE WORK HE IS TYING TO FOSTER.I REALLY WISH I HAD THE OPPORTUNITY TO REACH THE WORLD WITH WHAT GOD HAS FOR EVERY MANKIND

Leave a Reply

