My Top 5 Favorite Books

I thought I’d post my top 5 favorite theological books that if I was stranded on an island and I didn’t have a Bible that I would want to read again and again. Also, I would recommend these to any Christian. Enjoy…

In no particular order:

1} Let the Nations Be Glad!- The Supremacy of God in Missions by John Piper.

bnat_medium.jpg

The best book that I have ever read on missions and evangelism. It doesn’t get any better than the opening paragraphs-

“Missions is not the ultimate goal of the church. Worship is. Missions exists because worship doesn’t. Worship is ultimate, not missions, because God is ultimate, not man. When this age is over, and the countless millions of the redeemed fall on their faces before the throne of God, missions will be no more. It is a temporary necessity. But worship abides forever.

Worship, therefore, is the fuel and goal of missions. It’s the goal of missions because in missions we simply aim to bring the nations into the white-hot enjoyment of God’s glory. The goal of missions is the gladness of the peoples in the greatness of God.”

You can read the first chapter online here.

2} Recalling the Hope of Glory: Biblical Worship from the Garden to the New Creation by Allen Ross

fmdibg_12commontitledetail.gif

This is the best book that I have ever read on biblical worship. Especially insightful into what worship looked like for the Old Testament believer. If someone read this book, I have no doubt that they would have a better understanding of the big picture of the Bible and the infinitely glorious Triune God who is revealed within {Dr. Ross also has the best commentary on Leviticus! I actually debated which book of his to put here in this slot!}.

3} Of the Mortification of Sin In Believers by John Owen

images2.jpg

This classic work by Owen can be summed up in this infamous phrase: “Be killing sin or it will be killing you.” This is a must read for every Christian. You can read it for free online here.

4} Father, Son, and Holy Spirit: Relationships, Roles, and Relevance by Bruce Ware

1581346689.jpg

As mentioned a few posts ago, this book on the Trinity can transform the relationships in your life. Seeing how the Godhead works together in unity is fascinating! Embracing the doctrine of the Trinity might just transfrom our marriages and church community!

5} The End For Which God Created the World by Jonathan Edwards

twodissertations.jpg

If you dive into this book, you will be treading deep, deep waters. However, your life will not be the same. Although, this is hard reading, you will emerge from these waters with a keener sense of the glory of God.

If you want to get a nice introduction to this book, you can purchase John Piper’s book “God’s Passion For His Glory: Living the Vision of Jonathan Edwards (With the Complete Text of The End for Which God Created the World).”

1581347456.jpg

This book is half Piper explaining the background to Edwards’ book, and the other half of the book is Edwards dissertation “The End For Which God Created the World.”

So there’s my top 5 books. If you read any of these I can assure you that it will be well worth your time…

2 comments

  1. I’ve not read that one by Ross or Ware, but on your recommendation I’ll add them to my wishlist.

    I would add Knowing God, Packer as an honorable mention and certainly one of my top five.

    Every Christian ought to read that and Let the Nations Be Glad!

    Amen?

  2. Amen! Yes, Knowing God was on my list. I had to choose {read “struggle” here} to let it go out of the top 5. Certainly, it is #6. I can still remember when I first read it in 1992. Changed my life in many ways.

    Another worthy mention is Jerry Bridges’ “The Pursuit of Holiness”- this book did wonders for me concerning sanctification, mortification, etc…I also struggled keeping this one out of the top 5.

Leave a Reply

