Top 5 Preachers

Steve McCoy over at Reformissionary has posted the last couple of days: The Big 5: Systematic Theology, The Big 5: Books on Personal Evangelism and The Big 5: Books on Church Leadership. The comments are building and it is interesting to see that so many of us get locked into a “stream” of the church. Now, I’m not saying that is a bad thing, it is a natural thing. While Reformissionary has not stated this as an objective, it does give the readers and the author a good idea about the “streams” that the blog is swimming in and who is reading it. 

 

So, I post today for your consideration… Who are the Top 5 Preachers/Communicators of the Gospel living today? What are your thoughts?

 

-ross

13 comments

  1. Since the list is very subjective, I am going to list the top 5 that have helped me as a preacher and who I have learned much from about preaching through listening to their preaching:

    1} Chuck Swindoll
    2} John Piper
    3} Haddon Robinson
    4} Bryan Chapell
    5} Alistair Begg

  2. 1. John Piper — for his passion and bold proclamation of Biblical Truth
    2. C.J. Mahaney — for his pastoral heart and charismatic leanings
    3. Voddie Baucham – He’s just strong and a great preacher
    4. R.C. Sproul – for his strong theological preaching
    5. Chuck Smith, Chuck Swindoll & Tony Evans – a three way tie for third because these men have each played a part in my pastoral drive and development.

    I enjoy listening to Mark Driscoll and Matt Chandler and some other younger voices but with the drop-out, burn-out and moral failure rate of pastors I choose to stick with those who have proven faithful over the long haul and pray that this ‘younger generation’ of influential preachers will be in lists like these twenty years from now.

    Honorable mentions not making the top five list are Lance Ward, Gunny Hartman, Ross Strader, and of course, the ‘rabbi’ himself, Benji Magness!

  3. Rabbi – great list… I’ll post mine tomorrow. Chapell is the surprise on your list for me. Also, as I have thought through my list, I have noticed it is thoroughly American. In fact, I don’t know that I can think of a non-American that I know. So, while the world has gone global, it seems that my “stream” of Christianity still runs through America.

    Does anybody know any great non-American preachers/teachers that would broaden my horizons?

  4. Heath – that is a great word about the “proven faithful.” I seem to be reminded about once a week how vulnerable men in ministry are. If it is not an enlarged ego, it is a deflated one… and both put a man in a dangerous position.

    I have not ever listened to Chuck Smith, but his influence is undeniable.

  5. Ross,

    Chapell is great in action. Of course his books/online class have really helped me, but I have benefited from his preaching a lot. I too would have to give a shout-out to Tony Evans and James Macdonald. Obviously passion goes a long way with me. And the “Pipe” has certainly got that.

    Heath is blogging at heathtaylor.wordpress.com

    It was hard to narrow it to five.

  6. My favorites also include Alistair Begg (I have been a Truth Partner with his Truth For Life ministry for 8 or 9 years). The others are Adrian Rogers, Jack Graham (Pastor of Prestonwood Baptist, Dallas), Rich Liverance (mormerly of CBC, now in Kentwood, Michigan) and Benji. Not necessarily in that order. 🙂

  7. Mine are… in order:
    1. Chuck Swindoll – there are not words for his mastery
    2. John Piper – there are not words for his passion
    3. Rob Bell – hate his theology, love his creativity and narrative ability
    4. Alistair Begg
    5. Tim Keller

  8. I can’t list 5 right now, but the two who had the most influence on me are Chuck Swindoll and Tommy Nelson.

    Both are expository and easy to listen to.

    For some reason, I prefer reading Piper’s sermons to listening to them.

  9. Tim Keller
    Mark Driscoll
    Matt Chandler
    Erwin McManus
    Rick McKinley

    Honorable Mentions: Louie Giglio, John Piper, Ed Stetzer, Tony Evans, Alistair Begg, RC Sproul, Chuck Smith, Rob Bell, David Jeremiah

    Two Guys that I used to listen to but (for different reasons) I have completely lost interest in hearing what they have to say: John MacArthur and Ed Young Jr.

    (I agree with Ross about Rob’s theology but we could learn alot from his teaching style and creative story telling methods. While I certianly know we don’t need to pursue relevance and eloquence over and above Biblical truth and scriptural accuracy I do think it is a sin to bore people with the Bible.)

  10. alastair begg, john mcarthur, alastair mcneeley, john piper i can only name these four all faithful men who preach the Gospel clearly and with passion. I am so thankful to the Lord for allowing me to listen to his word through these men.

  11. 1. Zac Poonen!!! He’s from India. Download his sermons from his site or sermonindex

    2. Derek Prince

    others include John MacArthur, Mark Driscoll, Chuck Missler, Jim Cymbala

Leave a Reply

