Ray Stedman

I found a biography on Ray Stedman online- Portrait of Integrity: The Life of Ray C. Stedman by Mark S. Mitchell. You can find it here.

Some sound words from Ray for preachers:

“Again, the ministry of shepherding and teaching must be done without desiring personal glory. How well pastors know that right here is where the full force of temptation to pride can strike! There is something very pleasing to the ego to stand in front of others and have every eye fastened on you and every ear open to what you have to say. It is terribly easy to begin to crave that feeling and to find subtle ways of nurturing and encouraging it.

As a pastor I must confess that I had to stop the practice of going to the door after a service and greeting people as they went out. I found that when I did it regularly, it fed my ego in such a way that I had a terrible battle with pride. People were saying nice things to me and I found myself loving to hear them. It is very easy for a pastor or teacher to perform his ministry for hidden reasons of personal prestige or glory.” (Ray Stedman, Body Life (Grand Rapids, Mich.: Discovery House Publishers, 1995, 128-129.)

Leave a Reply

