Like a Weaned Child

O LORD, my heart is not lifted up; my eyes are not raised too high; I do not occupy myself with things too great and too marvelous for me. But I have calmed and quieted my soul, like a weaned child with its mother; like a weaned child is my soul within me. O Israel, hope in the LORD from this time forth and forevermore. Psalm 131

I love this psalm. It’s probably one of my favorites. I love the imagery that David employs here. And it’s the perfect song for any of us that are stressing and worrying about life.

Somehow David has pulled off the miraculous. Life is chaotic. Life is stressful. And yet David doesn’t lift his heart up in pride by worrying about life, as if he was the solution. He does not assume to be God and claim to know how life should be. David’s eyes are not raised too high. He does not let all of the “unknowns” and “what ifs” occupy space in his mind. Thinking and stressing about all the marvelous and overwhelming issues of life are not consuming David.

David has calmed and quieted his soul. Just like a weaned child sitting in his mother’s lap, David is calm. What does the weaning process look like for a child? The child gets fussy and demands to nurse. The mother says “no” and the child gets fussy. The process continues until the child understands. Once the process is complete, the child can rest content when he sits in the lap of his mother. He is so close to that which used to provide tranquility and yet the child is not fussy or demanding. The child is calm.

David says that his soul is like that child. Life’s struggles are overwhelming him and yet David is calm. He’s not fussy or demanding. How? How is this possible when life is overwhelming? The answer: David’s hope is in the Lord. David knows that God is faithful. David knows that God has never let him down, therefore, he can trust Him. Never! Never has God let His people down! Why not trust this God? We would be crazy not to trust Him!

Got problems? Got burdens? Got stress? Then get Psalm 131. I mean get it real good into your heart. I mean, “get it.” Do you “get it?” Get it into your heart and rest because you hope in the Lord.

Praying that our souls would be like weaned, fussy-free children,

Benji

Leave a Reply

