Scrub! | Psalm 119:9

We need the Bible. I know I do. I need an outside, objective voice speaking truth to me. Interestingly, the Hebrew word in Psalm 119:9 for “cleanse, purify” occurs in the “intensive” Piel stem. Perhaps a paraphrase like this would work and drive home the point:

“How can a young man scrub his life clean? By keeping Your word.” Regardless of gender or age, we are all desperate for purity in our lives. We all need a good scrubbin’ of our hearts and then gettin’ them hosed off. The Gospel does that. You are clean, Christian. Jesus said so:

“Already you are clean because of the word that I have spoken to you. Abide in me, and I in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit by itself, unless it abides in the vine, neither can you, unless you abide in me. I am the vine; you are the branches. Whoever abides in me and I in him, he it is that bears much fruit, for apart from me you can do nothing.” John 15:3-5

Leave a comment