I DON’T WANT TO BE A MONSTER! | PSALM 119:8

There’s this odd phrase in Psalm 119:8 in the Hebrew: ʿǎḏ meʾōḏ (“continuing muchness”). Spurgeon and Calvin correctly picture it as a prayer not to be handed over and left to himself. 

Spurgeon: “Feeling his own incapacity, he trembles lest he should be left to himself, and this fear is increased by the horror which he has of falling into sin.”

Calvin: “God permits his people to be brought low by adversity, as if he had forsaken them…The prophet is not altogether averse to the trial of his faith, only he is apprehensive lest it might fail were the trial to be too long protracted, and therefore he desires to be treated with tenderness in his infirmity.,’ O God! thou sees my frame of mind, and, as I am but a man, do not conceal too long from me the tokens of thy favor, or defer helping me longer than is proper for me, lest, imagining myself to be forsaken of thee, I turn aside from the direct pursuit of godliness.’”

What’s scarier than living in the “continual muchness” of self? Wouldn’t that be the worst? To be left in the “continual muchness” of self? Let’s pray today that we wouldn’t be so self-absorbed. I don’t know about you, but I know I am, and I want to change. I don’t want to be a “monster” to my family. Help me, Holy Spirit! Don’t abandon me to the “continual muchness” of Benji Magness!

Leave a comment